Change – Visualizing, Learning, Networking

Last week I attended an all-day seminar for my day career as a business analysts. I attended a session on change and how to be better at what you do. Listening to the speaker, I realized how this can apply to being a successful author/writer as well. Here are three steps to get you on your way.

Step 1: visualize what you want. I want to be a successful author. I can visualize myself signing books, being interviewed, meeting fans, having my name on the bestseller lists. I need to keep these images in my head, seeing myself in these situations every day. Make that at least five times a day.

Step 2: learn. Learn what you need to do to become that person. Gain knowledge so you can move forward with good business decisions. Attend conferences, take seminars/webinars, or classes at a college/university. You can also join different groups to be with people wanting the same goal. Learn from each others experiences and have a good support team on your side.

Step 3: get the word out. Tell people who you want to be – what you are aspiring to be or who you are. I tell people that I am a writer, and I am an aspiring author. Feel, see, and be the passion. Go places that will help you achieve your goal.

Visualizing, learning, and networking are strong keys to your success. And now is a good time to start!

Leave a Reply

