Interview Experience

I interviewed today with a journalist from a national magazine/newspaper for an article he is writing on self-publishing. My name was given to him at the RT Convention as he was looking for aspiring authors interested in self-publishing. And yes, this was my first interview and a whole new experience.

In my day profession as a business analyst, I’m the one who asks the questions or gives guidance on projects. Today was not the norm for me. When it comes to being in the spotlight, I’m not. I’m a listener and an observer. Today, I changed seats. Being an aspiring author, I have to promote myself and my stories. This interview got my feet wet, gave me an understanding of what it’s like, and gave me a feel for what questions may be asked. Even if the information I gave him isn’t used in the article, I’m still thrilled to have had the opportunity. I can say that I learned from the experience. I learned that I need to build a package to promote myself and my stories so each time gets easier and easier. With feet now wet, I’m looking forward to diving in. Head first.

Thank you, Andrew, for the interview.

One thought on “Interview Experience

  1. I’m looking forward to hearing more about the interview in June. Hope he includes you in the article. What an opportunity to get your name out there.

Leave a Reply

