Lesson Learned: The Hand Tap

I had a proud mama moment last night. My daughter is so much like me. In one way, I’m blessed that over the years, she has listened and learned from me. Yes, I know, this isn’t always the case. We have had our moments as well. There are times when every comment I make becomes an argument or a reversal for her. But last night she came over with a huge grin on her face and told us that she used the hand tap. And…. what is the hand tap?

My husband likes to tell the story how I gave him the hand tap about a year after we began dating. I sat down with him, gave him the hand tap, and asked if “this” was going anywhere (meaning our relationship). The hand tap was a little added boost to say that it was decision time. I was at the point where I wanted to take our relationship to the next level. If not, I may need to reconsider as I wanted to map out my future.

The hand tap worked. My husband ‘got it’ as we have been happily married for 13-plus years. However, he has learned and commented throughout the years how three women (me, my daughter, and his daughter) pretty much dominate his life. He likes to say that we ‘gang’ up on him at times.

So you can imagine what it was like when he met my daughter’s new boyfriend. My husband was like a kid, knowing that he finally had someone to take sides with him. I think my daughter’s boyfriend liked this idea as well. They even high-fived, hands in the air, after scoring a point for the men after a comeback he made against the women.
My daughter explained how last week her boyfriend casually mentioned that he could help my husband in the battle of the sexes, be a partner against the three strong women. My daughter stopped him. She looked her boyfriend in his eyes, tapped his hand, and said, “No, you won’t.” Her boyfriend, big and burly, turned meek and said, “Okay.”

I couldn’t help but grin.

Leave a Reply

