Lesson Learned: Snow Day!

Saturday night was the start of a huge snowstorm that swept the Midwest. The storm ended this morning and produced 10 to 12 inches of snow in the Hudson area. The bad news is that I had somewhere to go on Sunday, my writer group’s meeting and holiday party. Driving over fifty miles in snow and on slick roads is not a favorite of mine. The good news is that I wasn’t the only one who thought the same. We cancelled the meeting and rescheduled the party to our January meeting. I now had a full day with no commitments. A snow day!!

I thought about all the things I could knock off my list, like clean off my desk, go through my emails, and wrap the presents I had bought. I wanted to get started right away, but my mind spun in every direction. I froze for a bit (not literally) and then took on the first chore of watering my plants. I went upstairs with my water pitcher and thought of something else to do. I tried working on that, was distracted, and then remembered I had to finish watering the plants. How frustrating!

At that point, I stopped and looked out my bedroom windows. I have three high windows on one wall. Inside, I decorated the sills with candles, snowmen, and white leaves. Outside, the backdrop was snow and ice clinging to the window, almost as if Jack Frost had come to visit. I smiled as I admired my windows in this new winter scene.

I then went to the dining room window and looked out to the park. I watched the white flakes swirl down to the ground. A dog jumped across the blanket of snow with his tongue hanging out and ears flapping. Snow flew up as he bounced around and circled the marshmallow- coated pine trees.

I did get to my list. I prioritized and dug into the tasks I knew had to get done. In between work, I took a few moments to look outside and watch the beauty around me. What a great day.

One thought on “Lesson Learned: Snow Day!

  1. Sounds like what I went through. Oh, the possibilities.

Leave a Reply

