Lessons Learned: Heavy Sigh Moment

I am close to publishing my contemporary romance Gitana – Life Plan. I planned to work hard this weekend to add the final touches to the manuscript document and to upload to the sites. However, the only “finish” I completed on Sunday was to shut down my computer after a frustrating few days.

On Friday, I had trouble with my work computer and my personal computer. This should have been a sign for the weekend, but I was ready to tackle my list. I went on to Amazon and set up my account and upload my nicely formatted manuscript. The good news is that you get a chance to preview what your eBook will look like on an eReader before published. For mine, the paragraph indents were too long at .5 as instructed. I now have to go back and reformat the manuscript (hoping that I don’t mess up anything else) and then upload again.

I started working on the manuscript document when suddenly my computer security software flashed a warning sign that something/someone was trying to get into my computer. Immediate shut down occurred. I stared at the black screen with a sick feeling in my stomach. My book was inside of it. I pushed the power button. The machine crackled to life, and I mean literally crackled like static. I held my breath, then swore. It shut down again. After two tries, I resuscitated my computer. Needless to say, I took the time to back up all my documents and pictures to an external drive…just in case.

Back to the book. I decided to wait on the manuscript formatting and went to upload the book cover. I wanted to see how that would look once on Amazon. I had used the size and options recommended from the class I took. Shouldn’t be an issue, right? Wrong. I couldn’t read my name or the book title. It would have been okay if it were blurred or hard to read since it is a small picture, but I couldn’t make out any of the letters. I went back to work on the photo. I stared at the picture as if it would magically correct itself, because I couldn’t remember how I managed to create it in the first place. I did a lot of guessing and now nothing worked.

So yes, this is my heavy sigh moment. I’m on the home stretch of getting my book published, but I’m tripping over my shoe strings as I run to get there. I have to stop, concentrate, and work on one issue at a time.

If you hear any grumblings, it’s probably me.

Leave a Reply

