Lesson Learned: Appreciate Opportunites

Today I am blessed with two opportunities.

The first opportunity is that I am able to celebrate my son’s birthday with him. Birthdays are not a big deal to him, not like they were when he was younger and had birthday parties. His favorites as a child were Legos, Thomas the Tank Engine, and all his books. Today, he can easily pass on the birthday party and gifts in order to spend quiet time with family. I appreciate that this year I can celebrate his 25th birthday with him. He’s home on leave before heading back to Germany.

The second opportunity happened this morning when I was able to go to my daughter’s ultrasound appointment with her and her boyfriend. She is 20 weeks into her pregnancy and had a good chance of learning the baby’s sex. When I was pregnant with my daughter, I believe I had an ultrasound done but no pictures and no TV monitor for the mom to see. Today I was able to watch her baby suck it’s thumb, hold it’s hand in a fist, and see it’s mouth move. I was thrilled that she let me share this moment with her.

And we did find out the sex. My “little” girl is going to have a little boy. I loved seeing the smile on my daughter’s face when she exchanged looks with her boyfriend. A priceless moment.

This afternoon, we’ll be heading out to celebrate both. We’ll bowl, have dinner, and then ice cream at Cold Stone Creamery (my son’s favorite place). What better way to enjoy the day.

Leave a Reply

