Using your senses.

Wild, wild, weather. One week snow and below freezing temperatures to sunny and hot a few days later. WTF? Spring has finally come to Minnesota/Wisconsin. And the best part was last night. We had the doors open in the house and the rain came pouring down. We had ourselves a little rainstorm. I breathed in the humidity, smelled the earth as it drank in the water, and felt the cool breeze that brought in the mist.

At work I will put on my headphones and listen to nature sounds. I make my own mix of thunder, rain on a roof, and sometimes wind chimes. The mix is relaxing and drowns out the noise around the office when I need to concentrate. But it’s not the same as being there. It’s amazing what the senses can pick up when there’s more than one sense pulled together. Right now I’m writing in my living room with the windows open. I can smell the upcoming rain again, a grill cooking barbequed meat from one of the neighbor’s yards, and a little smoke filtering through from a fire.

This reminds me of how important it is to include more than one sense when writing. The sound of nature coming from my headphones is nice, but the experience of smell, sound, and touch together is awesome. That’s what the reader wants to experience.

Leave a Reply

