Writer’s Block

Writer’s block isn’t the worst thing in the world. It’s not the best thing either when you are at the computer trying to write your blog for the night…like me. I’m not liking the blockage from brain to fingers to computer. Don’t get me wrong, I have plenty to say, but tonight my energy is low. I created a rough draft this afternoon of what I was going to post for tonight, but I didn’t like the layout. Yes, I could tweak it, but the words have to hit right and tonight it’s not happening.

So, you get to see writer’s block in action. I started writing three different subjects for tonight’s post. One was on mother’s day, the other on the dog running across the park with enough energy that could light the neighborhood lights, and on generations of mothers. Now I’m writing on writer’s block.

It happens. You’ll start writing or typing your story, your blog, an email, or an article but you end up erasing more than you write. The best thing to do is keep writing. Here’s four tricks:

1. Move away from the computer, find a favorite chair with a pad and pencil and try writing the old fashion way. To me, this is more personable, like writing in a diary. Let your emotions run into your hand, to the ink, and then to paper. You can always fine-tune the words or structure once you type it up on the computer.

2. Find a picture of a person in a magazine that looks intriguing and write a bio on his or her life. Keep it on file and you may have a new character for your next story.

3. Stop writing. Go for a walk or do some exercises for twenty minutes to half an hour. Get the blood flowing and stimulate the brain. Try writing again.

4. Force yourself to type. Let your fingers keep pressing away at those keys and see where your writing takes you.

Well, what do you know. I finished my blog!

Leave a Reply

