After the Release

Gitana – Life Plan has been available for two months now. Seeing my eBook on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and the other websites is exhilarating. I love to write and this was a big accomplishment for me – to take an idea and form a story, to write the manuscript, and then publish to major outlets. I didn’t have time to breath, knowing that next I had to promote.

The first adrenaline rush made it easy to promote myself and my book. I did my “just released” announcements, handed out cards and networked at the RT Convention, and blasted my news whenever I had the chance. I’ve had great help from people along the way, whether they told others about my eBook or gave me advice on what to do. I’m not sure how long the “just released” phase lasts, I’m assuming two or three months. I was able to get in two months’ worth of going strong since publication. Now I’m pooped and have to take a break and reassess my next steps.

I still have different networks to hit to get my name and book out there, but I can be patient. I hear that successful authors spend one to two hours per day on promotions and marketing. I’m ready for the one hour a day. I learned at the RT Convention that marketing is important and a necessity, but the best action you can take is to write another book. So this week, I’m going to grab that idea and form the story. I’m excited to start!

Leave a Reply

