WisRWA Conference

Yesterday I returned from the three-day WisRWA conference that I attended in Oconomowoc, Wisconsin which is just outside of Milwaukee. The annual event includes sessions given by prestigious speakers, a raffle to help raise money for literacy, networking, agent/editor appointments, and the announcement of the year’s Fab Five and Write Touch contest winners. If you are an aspiring author, I would recommend entering the Fab Five contest.

The keynote speaker at this year’s conference was Michael Hauge, a story and script consultant/lecturer who has worked with screenwriters, novelists, filmmakers, executives, and film funding agencies. He held two sessions on story mastery, how to write the main character’s outer and inner journey. DiAnn Mills, a NY Times best-selling author was another guest speaker, and she spoke to us about emotional conflict. Both were great speakers. I didn’t have a chance to talk to Michael in person, but I did chat with DiAnn on Sunday, and she’s just a little sweetheart…all 96 pounds of her.

I love conferences with great speakers. I drove home on Sunday feeling rejuvenated and excited to write again. To me, that’s a successful conference.

Now I wish I had more hours in the day to vanish into my office to write. I will get there, one day, but for now I’ll take advantage of the spare time that I do have. My conferences are done for the year with only a weekend retreat in October remaining. This summer will be dedicated to writing.

Tina and me, WisRWA Conference 2013

Tina Susedik (on the left) and me with the roses we received in recognition of our first eBook sales at the 2013 Wisconsin RWA Write Touch Conference.

Leave a Reply

