Lessons Learned: The Celebration – Not the Gift

When I was in kindergarten, I made a candleholder as a gift for my dad. I was so proud of my blue aerosol cap creation. I decorated the outside with glitter, and I poured the plaster into the inside of the cap to help hold the tapered candle. On the day I was supposed to bring my candleholder home, I was sick and had to stay home from school. The next day, I looked for my candleholder but couldn’t find it. Only a few remained on the table and those had names on them. I had to take home one of the candleholders that remained. I was devastated. I cried when I got home. I cried in the bathroom right before I gave “the replacement” to my dad. “I didn’t see it! Honest!” My dad said and tried reasoning with me, thinking that I was crying because he had seen the gift before I gave it to him. I finally had to give him the gift, but it wasn’t the same.

I laugh now when I think about that uneventful day. How that little gift meant so much to me. Life is so different when you’re a child. It was all about the gift. Now, I’m just thankful that I can spend time with my dad. I didn’t give him a candleholder this year. I gave him something he’d enjoy more – a 12-pack of Coors Light.

I hope you all had a chance to celebrate Father’s Day. Whether it’s with your real dad, someone you admire, or with your own child. I hope your day was great.

Leave a Reply

