Lessons Learned: Marriage and a Car

Mike and I celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary last week. As we drove home from work (we carpool), he asked me if I thought our marriage was more like a Cadillac or a Buick. I wasn’t quite sure how to answer the question. I never thought of our marriage as a “car.” I was a little nervous about responding based on the either/or question since I was given the top-of the line vehicle versus the old people vehicle (sorry, but that’s what I’ve heard Buick’s are known for—even though I previously owned a Buick in my thirties.)

And then, a different vehicle popped into my head that described us. I gave Mike a different answer, which he usually knows that I will. I said, “A Subaru.” I explained how:

Subaru: They are rated high for their safety.
Marriage: I feel safe when I’m with him.
Subaru: The vehicles are designed with the outdoors in mind (reason for the bigger windows).
Marriage: We’ve seen different kinds of scenery and we manage to see the big picture.
Subaru: They are reliable.
Marriage: I know that I can count on him when needed.
Subaru: They’re ready for any type of weather or terrain with being all-wheel drive.
Marriage: We’ve had many adventures, both up and down and we’ve seen some amazing things.

I think I got the point across.

I thought my husband’s question was fun. I was able to relate my relationship with him to a car (yes, weird, I know), and I bet I could do the same when comparing our marriage to a flower, a style of house, a city, or a state. If you ever want to strike up a conversation or know your place in a relationship, ask the question and have fun with it.

Happy Fifteen, Mike!

Leave a Reply

