Lessons Learned: Standing Up for Vets

Not too long ago I was part of a conversation of hiring new employees. When the conversation turned to veterans, the female wrinkled her nose and said how she didn’t like hiring Vets. When we gave her a funny look, she explained that the status wouldn’t sway her decision one way or the other…she wouldn’t give them any preference. The other (younger) person in the conversation reacted. He immediately chimed in that he would hire a Vet and he or she would be at the top of the list. He explained how vets have the discipline that most other people don’t have today. Vets know how to handle stress, and they have a great work ethic. They learn their job and take pride in it.

I was proud of the male for standing up to the other person. He asked me later why I didn’t get on her case. I told him that I didn’t have to. I supported what he said in the conversation, but his comeback was perfect. This wasn’t about attacking the person for what she said but for changing her mind. Because of his words, this woman will now remember to think twice the next time she’s reviewing resumes and interviewing.

Thank you to all the Vets who have served our country. This includes my dad, my father-in-law, and my brother. I have many other relatives and friends who’ve served. I’m proud of all, especially my son. He’s currently deployed and has served our country for over six years.

Happy Veterans Day!

Leave a Reply

