Writing a Business Plan, Part 2

Last week I wrote about the first page of an author’s business plan. The first page can be a simple business plan that provides the basic information like your name, type of plan, and mission; the purpose which includes what you want to accomplish; and then the goals you want to set. Today’s blog provides the detail to those goals. For each goal, you will want to include the following information:

1. Deliverables
2. Measuring Results
3. Timeframe

For each one of the above items, you can list them separate or together. You can include as much detail as you want or provide high-level information.
My business plan is for five years. My goal is to publish four books within the next five years. I consider each one of those books a goal. For example:

Goal 1: Publish Book 2 in eBook and print form.

My deliverables include: Write the manuscript, edit the manuscript, hire a professional copy/content editor for the final edits, create the book cover, format for eBook, format for print, assign ISBNs if needed, write the blurb, upload for eBook, upload for print, create and manage a budget for publishing the manuscript.

My measuring results follow each deliverable. For example, my first deliverable is to write the manuscript so my measuring result is to have the first draft of the manuscript completed. My second deliverable is to edit the manuscript so my measuring result is to edit my manuscript until satisfied that it is ready. I continue the same approach for each deliverable.

The timeframe will follow each deliverable and measuring result. The first draft of my manuscript will be completed by April 30, 2014. My edits will be completed by June 30, 2014. Again, each deliverable that has a measuring result will have a timeframe for completion.

I will repeat Goal 1’s deliverables and measuring results for Goal 2, Goal 3, and Goal 4. My timeframes will be different to reflect my five-year timeframe. Other goals that I have listed include sales, marketing the books, building readership, and advertising. Each goal will follow the same pattern as above.

Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

