Lessons Learned: Vaulted Memories

My dad worked for Chandler Wilbert Vault Company for over 30 years. I always liked telling people that he buried people for a living, mainly to see their expressions. And with a sinister smile, I loved telling my boyfriends to see them sweat. They always asked what I meant by that.

My dad was proud to work for Bud Chandler and his job at the vault company became part of our lives as well. For our family, it wasn’t unusual to have a funeral tent for our graduation parties. It wasn’t unusual for me (when I was around eight-years-old) to sell burial vaults to my imaginary customers. I always sold more of the copper and bronze vaults because they were my favorites. Of course, I sold Avon too. I wasn’t totally weird. 😉

My dad passed away on Sunday. He had on his Chandler Wilbert Vault tee shirt. How fitting. Even the funeral home liked that one.

Here’s to my dad and one of my memories about him.

Leave a Reply

