Lessons Learned: Blaring The Oldies

The last few weeks I’ve been listening to Sirius Satellite radio in my car. I’ve listened to 50’s, 60’s, 70’s, and 80’s Rock and Pop music. I’m having fun singing the songs long forgotten. Do you remember Basketball Jones by Cheech and Chong, The Streak by Ray Stevens, and Cherokee Nation by Paul Revere and the Raiders? Some songs I haven’t heard in over thirty years! A few of the hits should have stayed in storage, being permanently archived, or buried.

Luckily I’m confined to my car when blaring them from the radio. I think I’d get a few stares if others heard what I was listening to on my commute to and from work. Even my husband is getting a laugh out of it.

Part of the fun is also remembering a moment in time when the song became popular. I remember when Rock and Roll All Night by Kiss hit the charts. My friend’s brother flipped out every time he heard the song. I still remember him in his bedroom singing the song over and over again while playing his air guitar.

I know the songs will fade once again, but for now I’m just having fun rockin’ and poppin’ out until my Sirius trial subscription expires. Will I miss listening to the rarities? Maybe. But I have my favorites from those decades tucked into my MP3 player and ready to play. The others can stay archived where they probably belong.

Leave a Reply

