Lessons Learned: Summertime Blues

It’s hard to believe that summer is near the end. I used to say that summer was the only time that flew by, but now I think pretty much all months disappear within a blink of an eye—no matter the season. I think the reason why summer ending has more of an effect on me today is because I know that the sunny days, warm air, sandals, light clothes, and camping will soon be saying goodbye.

I’m not a big fan of having to bundle up in a coat, gloves, scarf, and heavy boots in the winter months. I don’t like having to leave 15-20 minutes early to go to work because of ice and snow on the roads. I always think twice about leaving the house because it’s too dark or too cold to go out. Not to mention how much fun it is to shiver in your car when you’re waiting for it to warm up. And the freedom of interacting with the outdoors is limited. I’ll open the door every once in a while in the winter time to let the fresh air in, but it’s not too often.

So with summer leaving, I have to embrace winter and expect what’s coming. I know once the colder weather is here, I’ll embrace it. Still, I get to have my heavy sighs now. I get dibs on one day for the summertime blues.

Leave a Reply

