Lessons Learned: The Week in Between

The week between Christmas and New Year’s Day is filled with different emotions for me. I start to feel the creep of the Christmas blues trickling in, knowing that the festivities are over. I’ve enjoyed spending time with family, yet I’m relieved that all the gift shopping and running around is over. I continue to catch up with family and friends while looking forward to a little down time as well. During this week, I let my emotions change by allowing time for rest (which I need this year since I’ve been pretty sick) and to prepare myself for 2015.

To help with the blues, I take down the Christmas decorations a few days after the holiday. The takedown is like therapy for me as I say goodbye to the year. As the tree comes down and the house returns to normal, I start to think about what I want to accomplish for the coming year. Like many others, I think about goals and how I can improve myself. January will be spent writing down those goals and deciding what I want to accomplish. Until then, I’ll say my goodbyes to 2014 and take a peek into 2015.

Leave a Reply

