Lessons Learned: A Chance to Get It Right

January 1 is the day for new beginnings. The day provides a brand new year of hope and a chance to get it right. What is “it?” Whatever is important to you.

Most people make New Year’s resolutions. Some are diehard fans who’ll stick to their list, while others do it more as a joke. As the saying goes, “Don’t make a New Year’s resolution because you’ll never see it through” or “New Year’s resolutions are made to be broken.”

Some resolutions we make and then forgot about them within a week. Others we try really hard to follow but then change them. A few we actually make. Resolutions are a way for us to think about what we want in life. Whether it’s to exercise more, eat healthier, volunteer, or update a resume, the resolution helps us to move forward and try again.

One of my resolutions for last year was to publish my next novel. I was optimistic of having it published by the end of August, 2014. My energy was high and my focus strong. And then my dad passed away. I still wrote, but I had other things to focus on. I slowly saw that goal of August diminish. And then came summer. Again I wrote but I struggled with the structure of the story. I was also busy at my day job, helping my daughter plan her wedding, and taking care of my family. I started feeling deflated because finishing the story was taking longer than expected. My New Year’s resolution became “as the saying goes…”

Now 2015 has opened its doors. I knew my first resolution for the year would be and is to publish my next novel, “The Calling.” The story is finished and now I can focus on editing. I am closer to my goal. I’m heading into the new year with optimism and energy. This is my chance to try again and get it right.

Even if last year’s resolutions aren’t met, let them become this year’s or make some changes if they need to be more realistic. But don’t lose hope. Stay optimistic. Continue on, try again. Let’s continue to move forward.

One thought on “Lessons Learned: A Chance to Get It Right

Leave a Reply

