Lessons Learned: American Sniper

Wow. The movie “American Sniper” was intense.

I went to see the movie yesterday with my husband. I knew that I’d have a hard time watching parts of it. I knew that I’d get emotional. This movie gave me a different perspective of what our men and women experienced when deployed (on tour) to Iraq (or to Afghanistan as well). This movie had me think about my son’s experience when he was deployed. Even as I write this, I can feel my chest tighten with emotion. For me, the movie was powerful.

“American Sniper” is about Chris Kyle and his experience as a Navy Seal and being one of the most lethal snipers in U.S. history. The movie showed us what duty, honor, and to protect meant through his eyes. The story is also about the adjustment back home, Chris’s struggles between duty and family. How he had to learn to be with family again.

As I watched the movie, I thought about my son and wondered how he felt when deployed to Iraq (once) and Afghanistan (twice). What did he see? What did he go through? I remember his attitude after Iraq. How he was impatient, more angry, and distant when he returned home. I know war changes people. I understood my son would change. “The Hurt Locker” was another movie that showed us what war was like for EODs (those disarming bombs). My son, an EOD, watched the movie with us and explained what was “Hollywood” and what was real. The movie was intense as well. The “Hurt Locker” scared the crap out of me because I realized that this is what my son actually does for a living. However, I think “American Sniper” gave me a better understanding of the whole picture (the commitment through readjustment).

I would recommend seeing “American Sniper.” The movie reminded me of the sacrifices our men and women have given. How committed they are to serving our country. Very intense.

Leave a Reply

