Author News

When I thought I would start blogging again, another rung in the ladder had broken for me. Life has been pretty hectic in the last few years. I’ve had a mixed bag of good events—like my second book The Calling being published—and then bad events like not being able to blog, write, or be an author. I wanted to explain why I’ve had to step away for a while.

My life has been emotionally draining in the last few years with family issues. My mom’s health has been slowly deteriorating after my dad died two years ago. Last November we had to unexpectedly place her in memory care. We literally had a week to find a new facility and then move her from assisted living to her new home. A little more than a month after her move she fell and broke her thigh bone. Because of the massive stroke she had in 2010 and her current condition, she wouldn’t survive the surgery or rehab associated with trying to fix her thigh bone. We had to place her in hospice.

The days, weeks, months have been pretty emotional as we adjust to knowing we will soon lose her. Whether it’s tomorrow or in a few months, no one knows. We continue to move ahead and do what we can to keep her comfortable and making sure she knows that we love her.

In the meantime, I try to keep balance of my life. I did go on a Bahama cruise which was much needed to unplug and enjoy the warmth of the sun. I’m also attending the RT Convention which I registered for last summer. I debated on going but knew I needed this break too. There’s something special about seeing familiar faces and meeting new ones.  I know the convention will bring me back into the writing which I love to do.

One thought on “Author News

  1. Terri says:

    Thinking of you and your family as your mom is now in hospice.
    Balance is important ~ good for you in taking some time to relax and to spend some time pursuing your passion for writing.

Leave a Reply

